Washburn University Meeting of the Faculty Senate May 2, 2016 3:00 PM – Henderson Hall, Room 112

PRESENT:

Alexander (Rebecca), Ball, Barker*, Erby*, Farwell, Kapusta-Pofahl*, Sungkyu, McHenry, Moddelmog, Petersen, Prasch*, Sadikot, Schmidt, Schnoebelen, Scofield, Smith, Stacey, Steinroetter, Stevens, Tutwiler, Wasserstein*, Weiner, Wohl, Zwikstra

(* Indicates a newly elected senator)

ABSENT:

Alexander (Ryan), Childers, Francis, Garritano, Jackson, Mansfield, Mapp, Mastrosimone, Memmer, Palbicke, Pembrook, Porta, Routsong, Russell, Sanchez, Sourgens, Stevenson, Treinen, Worsely

- I. President Ball called the meeting to order at 3:03pm.
- II. The minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting of April 4, 2016 were approved.
- III. President's Opening Remarks: President Ball thanked all in attendance for their service on Senate this year.
- IV. Report from the Faculty Representative to the Board of Regents:
 - President Ball attended the April 21st meeting; she noted that the following faculty members were approved for Emeritus status: Denise Ottinger, David Bainum, Phyllis Berry, Willie Dunlap, Cynthia Hornberger, Richard Martin, Marilyn Masterson, Carl Myers, Tim Peterson, John Christenson, Michael Kaye, and Joe McKinney.
- V. VPAA Update—Dr. Randy Pembrook: NONE
- VI. Faculty Senate Committee Reports: NONE
- VII. University Committee Reports: NONE
- VIII. Old Business: NONE
- IX. New Business: NONE
- X. Special Orders:
 - President Ball thanked outgoing senators for their service and welcomed the new senators.
 - Election of Faculty Senate Officers for 2016-2017:
 - President: Shaun Schmidt and Jim Schnoebelen were nominated. Schmidt was elected. (President Schmidt took over the meeting from outgoing president Ball).
 - Vice President: Linsey Moddelmog was nominated and elected unanimously.
 - Secretary: Jim Schnoebelen and Barbara Scofield were nominated. Jim Schnoebelen was re-elected.

- o Parliamentarian: Rick Barker was nominated and elected unanimously.
- XI. Information Items: NONE
- XII. Discussion Items: NONE
- XIII. Announcements:
 - Graduation is May 14th; please attend to support your students.
- XIV. President Schmidt adjourned the meeting at 3:24pm.